Dracula Book

Dracula by Bram Stoker
Read 2/27/14 to 3/3/14
Format: Ebook & Audiobook

Going into this novel, I was a little anxious.  I have heard so many amazing things about this book that I was scared that I was going to hate it.  This book has been on my “To Read” list ever since I watched “Lost Boys” and fell hopelessly in love with vampires.   Needless to say, Dracula is one of those books that have been recommended to me by anyone who knows my obsession with vampires and my love of reading.  I couldn’t help but worry that I was going to despise this novel and therefore become one of “those” vampire enthusiasts.  You see, I’m one of those readers who hates some of the most beloved books of my generation.  I still get the look of horror when I tell someone that I hated “Fahrenheit 451.” I would hate to see the accusatory glares I would receive if I hated “Dracula.”  Fortunately, I did enjoy this novel so my anxiety was unjustified. 

“I have been so long master that I would be master still, or at least that none others should be master of me” – Page 18

I have to say, the format was definitely unique.  Dracula takes place in letters and journal entries and it was not my typical story format.  This meant that I read this book slower than normal.  At times I felt that this book dragged. I believe this is because of the format and the older writing style.  I also noticed something that was a little disconcerting… I noticed that I was drained while reading it which does not happen often. The characters are interesting, the story is unsettling, and all in all it’s entertaining.  Yet, I am left drained after I read a chapter. I am slightly ashamed to admit that I have actually fallen asleep while reading this novel.  I even took this book to a coffeehouse (Peet’s Coffee at Southglenn), and still I found myself nodding off at times.  What I find interesting is that I am not alone in this.  I have talked to some friends and they too admit that the book was exhausting.

“I seemed to wish to keep him to the point of his madness” – Page 52

I did end up switching to the Audiobook read by Tim Curry, Alan Cumming, and a full cast.  This helped me pass the time while reading/listening to the book.  I found that I paid better attention to the novel and felt less drained while listening the audiobook.

“The world seems full of good men, even if there are monsters in it.” – page 198

All in all, this book really captivated me.  The characters were fascinating.  I loved the fact that there was a strong woman in the book (even when the men in the novel were chauvinistic and slightly annoying at times).  I truly enjoyed that the story was pretty grim and unsettling.  I tend to like darker novels, and this was right up my alley.  While I don’t anticipate the need to read it again, I am glad that I have marked this classic novel off of my “to read” list.

I give this novel 4/5 cups of coffee.

I’d love to hear about your experience and opinion reading this dark classic.  Please leave a comment and let me know your thoughts.

